I have a friend who is Gluten free. I like to cook for her and need to know when I get products that they don’t have gluten especially wheat. Does anyone know any other names for wheat in products?

Want more real mum questions sent to you?

You'll need to check this email to complete your signup.
  • Synonyms for wheat; cereal, grass, durum, gluten, semolina, spelt. Now a days you’ll find the indication of specifically “no-gluten” on the packages

  • There are some awesome Aussie websites – and some great recipes and advice on this site… Just key in what you need x

  • The Gluten free products are found in the health food isles of the supermarkets and sold at health food stores as well. They are slightly dearer than normal items.

  • Hi

    Foods made from grains (and grain-like plants) that do not contain harmful gluten, including:

    Corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, grits, etc.).
    Plain rice in all forms (white, brown, wild, basmati, enriched rice, etc.).
    Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat (kasha), cassava, flax, millet, quinoa, sorghum, soy, tapioca and teff.
    Flours made from gluten-free grain, nuts, beans and coconut. Look for products labeled gluten-free to avoid cross-contamination.
    Gluten-free ingredients:

    Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin (even when it is made from wheat), oat gum, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch and vinegar (only malt vinegar might contain gluten). Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca flour or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.

    The following foods:

    Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt, most ice cream without gluten-containing add-ins.
    Vegetable oils, including canola.
    Plain fruits, vegetables (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, potatoes, eggs, nuts, nut butters, beans and legumes.
    Distilled vinegar is gluten free. (See malt vinegar under NO below).
    Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely happens.
    Mono and diglycerides are fats and are gluten free.
    Spices are gluten free. If there is no ingredient list on the container, it contains only the pure spice noted on the label.

  • The only product that has the name wheat in it that is gluten free is buckwheat. It is derived from the flower of the rhurbarb. There is a few Gluten Free flours in the supermarkets. There are those that are just labelled GF Flour, there is also rice flour and almond meal. If you use cornflour at all, make sure it is labelled Gluten Free. Some are labelled Cornflour but the have wheat in them. If you are making anything that has vinegar in it, you can’t use malt vinegar because it is made from Barley. Don’t used dried apricots as the have an anti-caking agent on them to stop the pieces from sticking together which is flour but it doesn’t show. If you want to take the easy way, use gluten free cake mix.

  • In Australia it will be listed on the Allergen information as ‘contains gluten’. On a gluten free diet your friend will not be and to eat things containing wheat, barley, oats or rye.

    For baking it is easiest to buy “gluten free” flour blend from the supermarket.

Post your reply

To post a review please join us or login so we can allocate your points.

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just a star rating?

Write A Rating Just A Star Rating