My ex partner and I have 50/50 care of our son, so I seem to have a lot of free time on my hands! I study in aged care/community help, but after that, I just don’t know what else to do. What do you do in your free time?

Want more real mum questions sent to you?

You'll need to check this email to complete your signup.
  • I love to read, work in the garden, bake & cook, catch up with friends, draw & paint, crochet, sew and just started another knitwork.

  • I would suggest to you to pursue a hobby. I enjoy reading, movies, yoga.

  • You didn’t mention how old your son is.
    If you aren’t qualified to work in Aged Care yet, maybe you could do some voluntary work at one and gain some experience. Being voluntary you can choose hours to suit you. There is a lot of people living in Aged Care that either only receive occasional visits, in some cases none at all. Some like somebody to read to them. There is also a scheme at some Childrens sections in hospital which have babies that sometimes just need a cuddle to comfort them, something the staff don’t have time to do. You may also be able to help feed some little ones to relieve the staff of some of the time needed to care for children more who really need it. You could help with reading at a school or read to children in hospital. Children whose parents live in distant country areas and have other children needing care at home, often can’t visit as much as they would like. Their children in hospital need visits to cheer them up, lessen the homesickness, and generally take their minds off sad feelings.

  • Congrats on your study and I know a lot of areas would love your volunteer help. There are a lot of people in need such as home visits, community centres, charity work etc and even if it is once a week or fortnight , they will appreciate it. It really is great that you are using your initative to even ask. Good on You .

  • If I’m EVER lucky enough to score some free time, I try to do as little as possible ;)

  • I like bike riding, walking and reading too!

  • I am a beach lover! I love to read a book by the water. I also catch up with friends and family and I too study (this takes up most of my time!)

  • maybe you could do some surveys

  • I go on Facebook, go to the movies, scrapbook and make snuggly fleece blankets :)

  • Free time.. I wish! What I would like to do though is exercise, spend more time with friends and family and volunteer to help sick children (Starlight foundation or something like that)

  • I used to love craft, like card making of scrapbooking photos. Also sowing- dresses, cushion covers. I need to take up our curtains. A friend does quilting and has made cool felt activity books or stuffed soft toys (look up how to do a cat out of socks, it’s surprisingly easy!)
    Think about anything you enjoy or think you might enjoy and give it a go. Painting? A sport? (indoor soccer, Oz tag, hockey or tenis) There are always local casual teams around us. Even start swimming or do the gym thing or a dance class. I did a cool hip hop for beginners class the year before… Then I had a baby:P but all the other women were also mums in that class.
    I probably watch way too much TV shows in the evening too:)

  • I have helped out in my kids school as a volunteer in their reading program and Parent Group projects. I have helped out with my local council as a volunteer delivering meals on wheels program. Check with your council they run many programs. I have volunteered in our local St Vincent de Paul Opportunity Shop one day a week and made great friends from this. Since you are doing a aged care course maybe visit a Aged Home and see if they need someone to visit with some lonely patients who never get a visitor. I have been teaching English as a volunteer to new migrants in their home since I was 17, I’m 55 now and I love doing this. I hope you find something to fill your days soon. Best of luck.

  • I read a lot. It’s my favourite hobby. Then I am in Internet, I love cooking, walking with my dog, watching some nice series…

  • Gardening, shopping, baking and cooking :)

  • facebook and MOM’s! reading? shopping? walking

Post your reply
Add a photo
Your MoM account

Lost your password?

Enter your email and a password below to post your answer and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just a star rating?

Write A Rating Just A Star Rating