I read with much interest the suggestions on dairy, nut, soy and egg free chocolate. I was personally made to increase my knowledge in multiple folds if not exponentially when my LO has multiple allergies and had one anaphylactic incident. Here are some of my learning:
- lactose free does not mean dairy free
- whilst the word soy is not present in ingredients, it does not mean it is soy free. Lecithin, hydrolysed protein and vegetable gum to name a few may well contain soy
- buying the same brand and product doesn’t guarantee it will remain allergen free as the company may decide to change its manufacturing process. Therefore, reading the label EVERY time a new pack is purchased is of utmost importance.
Having said that, i’m more relieved now my LO is a little older and is also able to verbalise whether a new food that is introduced will cause discomfort or allergy symptoms
Posted by jocelynwong31, 27th September 2013