Hello!

17 Comments

I recently stayed at a resort on the Gold Coast, it was called Turltle Beach resort, and had the most amazing pool areas for the kids, about 5 different pools, and big slides for them, play area, heaps of bar b q areas around, kids had a great time. The only downside was the rooms, they were a bit old and shabby, the bed I slept in was so hard I felt like I was sleeping a block of concrete, the pillows did not have protector covers on them, the balcony when we walked out had bits of hair and toe nail clippings on the ground. It was supposed to be a non smoking resort, but someone on my floor was a heavy smoker and as soon as you walked in the smell just hit you, heaps of butts all over the place, we had a barbque one day and I turned around just in time to see the baby putting a butt into his mouth. We were there for a week and not once were the stairwells swept, vacuumed or moped they were filthy. Someone smashed a bottle at the bottom of the stairwell and just left it there, I picked up most of if but it took 2 hours for housekeeping to come after I called, and all they did was ;pick up the bits I had pushed into the corner, there were little bits left all over the floor. Very disappointed if the place had just been a bit cleaner and updated a bit It would be the best place to stay.
Oh well never mind you have to try new places and things . If you are not too worried about cleanliness its a great stay.


Posted by hellanbac, 23rd February 2015


Post your story
  • bot a great holiday

    Reply

  • not a great holiday

    Reply

  • great exellent

    Reply

  • That’s fairly poor that they couldn’t even take a minute to respond to your email. Sounds like management are fairly slack. Thanks for the article.

    Reply

  • I’ve heard similar comments about Turtle Beach Resort from other people.

    Reply

  • Such a shame when a holiday that you have saved for turns out to be less than ideal. At least you were able to enjoy the many pools.

    Reply

  • What a shame I hope you have written and told them what it is like


    • Yes I have sent an email and as yet one week later have had no reply at all



      • It is disappointing when a business does not reply to an email.

    Reply

  • How dreadful, have you put this on trip adviser so that others are aware and that management may do something to improve the place, it is so hard to save for a holiday and a lot of effort with a young family to actually go, sometimes it is easier to just stay home!!, We have had 2 wonderful holidays on the Gold Coast at another resort which was run by a lovely couple who could not do enough for us, and this certainly makes all the difference, hopefully your next holiday will be better, but please put it on trip adviser to let others know so no one else has to endure what you have.

    Reply

  • yeah well i would think twice before taking my kids there. very dissapointing but if you take the issue to management and they don’t rectify it or switch you to a better room, then take your money elsewhere. i would’ve been scared to use the bathroom

    Reply

  • That is a shame… sounds like with that right people running it this could be an amazing place

    Reply

  • you should of complain and ask for a refund I don’t think they would want the unwanted negative review and it is the main part of your holiday that makes it all that much more enjoyable


    • I did complain while I was there a few times I think they got sick of me, and I have since sent an email to the company and have not had any reply whatsoever, so they obviously don’t really care.

    Reply

  • Interesting review of the place.. But I think I’d steer clear of it!

    Reply

  • My brother only just recently went up there with his little family, and they had great experiences. Maybe it was just an off week? Unfortunate for you though I must say!

    I hope you enjoyed yourself regardless.

    Reply

  • Thank you, this is useful to know.

    Reply

Post a comment
Like Facebook page

LIKE MoM on Facebook

Please enter your comment below
Would you like to include a photo?
No picture uploaded yet.
Please wait to see your image preview here before hitting the submit button.
Your MoM account


Lost your password?

Enter your email and a password below to post your comment and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just a star rating?

Write A Rating Just A Star Rating
Join