A Brisbane mum has claimed that she has suffered online bullying after posting a negative review of a cafe.

Kylie Lindsay claims she went to The Low Road Cafe at Windsor in city’s north earlier this week with her 15-month-old son but when she arrived there were no high chairs.

She initially left a review on the cafe’s Facebook page, which has now been deleted, The Courier-Mail reports.

It’s not clear what rating she gave the cafe but she reportedly wrote she was “very disappointed” the cafe didn’t have a high chair for her son.

Co-owner Naomi explained to Ms Lindsay people trip over high chairs and “cover them in crap” but she was welcome to bring her pram.

“We have plenty of regulars with kids and we love ‘em,” Naomi wrote.

Another review was written on Facebook by Ms Lindsay, in which she claims cafe staff suggested she was “irritating and entitled”.

Ms Lindsay also left a one-star review on Google.

cafe review cafe

“Such a shame and would hope the owners take a good hard look at their handling of such issues,” she wrote on Google.

In a response to Ms Lindsay on Google, the cafe asked for her to “leave us alone”.

“Hi Karen, thanks for your 4900000th opinion on the matter,” it wrote.

“You’ve been kicking off on all sorts of social media trying to discredit us because you didn’t get your way, and now you’re here. We don’t have high chairs. We explained why.

“We are parents ourselves. Please, for the love of God have a glass of wine and pop some kind of nurturing essential oil in your diffuser and leave us alone.”

Ms Lindsay has claimed she suffered online bullying as a result of her reviews.

Ms Lindsay said after receiving an explanation about the lack of high chairs, she shared it to an online parenting group, a common practice among online parenting groups.

“I only shared it as an FYI to mums as I’d not come across a cafe … that didn’t have a high chair,” she said.

“Until they called me (names) and told me it was my loss.”

“It’s feedback given to a business and [people online have] chosen to make it personal and it’s bullying,” she told The Courier-Mail.

“I thought I was incredibly polite with a suggestion or some feedback, including saying I would like to support a local business, but then I was attacked unmercifully,” she said.

“They called me a racist and an arsehole.

“They went to town on me and even complete strangers who dared to stick up for me.”

In a Facebook post on Wednesday, the cafe thanked its customers for their support.

“We won’t be talking to any more media about it as we’d be more than happy to move on with our lives and get back to doing what we do best (as soon as we figure out what that is),” Low Road Cafe wrote.

The Low Road Cafe’s owners told Yahoo News Australia they are not commenting any further on the matter.

Did the mum go too far?

Share your comments below

  • I reckon the ‘Karen’ comment was well earned. I wonder if she even had the Karen haircut? I’ve worked in hospitality and I can imagine someone trying to destroy a business over something as ridiculous as them not having a high chair. I’ve cleaned off high chairs with baby wipes when I was done using them and the staff have been stunned. People really do leave them covered in the most disgusting stuff. Just put the cafe on the list of places to go without kids.


  • I suspect Kylie may have made more comments that she stated on her review. Not all cafes have highchairs. People wanting to use highchairs should sit where a highchair fits along a wall, not where people have to walk around it. The legs of them do protrude and it is easy to trip over on them. Not all cafes have space for a stroller either.


  • If I’m arranging to meet up with someone at a new cafe I tend to ring through first because I’ve come across plenty that don’t provide highchairs. Sometimes it is to be told that while they don’t have the chairs there is some seating areas where there’s room for prams. Rarely, but admittedly more than once, I’ve gotten an abrupt “no we don’t” and hung up on. I don’t go. Simples. But rudeness, whatever form it takes is un-called for.


  • The cafe’s initial response seems quite polite and reasonable. Her response alludes to stuff not demonstrated here.


  • The Mum was posting a polite piece of advice the cafe owner quiet obviously have issues


  • I think it’s good for all of us, the cafe included !! , to be able to receive positive and negative feedback.


  • I really thought the feedback given by the store was fair and kind.


  • Anyone can write a review, negative or positive it’s just part of business


  • Anyone can post a negative or positive review and the owners need to deal with it without carrying on.


  • I have two young children and have accepted that some places are kid friendly and some are not. Not everywhere has to cater for our children.


  • I’m interested to see where they said it was her loss and called her racist and an arsehole. I think she should’ve accepted their explanation of why no high-chairs and left it at that. I’ve seen plenty of places that don’t have them.


Post a comment
Like Facebook page

LIKE MoM on Facebook

Please enter your comment below
Would you like to include a photo?
No picture uploaded yet.
Please wait to see your image preview here before hitting the submit button.
Your MoM account

Lost your password?

Enter your email and a password below to post your comment and join MoM:

You May Like


Looks like this may be blocked by you browser or content filtering.

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just a star rating?

Write A Rating Just A Star Rating