Hello!

6 Comments

My husband is in the construction industry. For the last 5 years he has averaged working 8 months of the year. We have a mortgage and I’m thankful as I’m sure if we rented we wouldn’t of been able to pay our rent, you can always defer a mortgage payment.

I look after the children and go to work at night. With two children it would cost us $140 a day for childcare. I don’t think I would make that much a day. It just seems to be very limited help available for the ‘average’ family when times get tough.

We eat very basic meals. Some nights are spaghetti with a tin of diced tomatoes a total of $1.49 & then I can spread that over two nights.. One night a week I don’t eat, add it up over one month & there is a meal for four..

My children always have yoghurt, cheese, formula, fruit & veg, they always come first.

Yes, I’ll admit I have thought of leaving my hubby as the single mums I know always have money, discounts, their children play sports, they do work full time but pay $11 a day for childcare and then a few give the children to their fathers & they have weekends free where they can go to dinner & drinks..

How I do envy these women, my friends & family at times.. But then, I look at my hubby and despite times being tough I still love him. It’s not his fault of the industry. When he works, he works hard long hours. He’s an incredible father with such love for his children and their love for him. So the answer is no, I wouldn’t leave him. We’re in this together as a family & eventually things will turn for the better.


Posted by zara ballet, 20th April 2013


Post your story
  • It is sad to see families such as yours doing it tough because you choose to do the right thing. I get a bit tired of seeing the young Centrelink mums hanging round the city, bubs in prams screaming, all wearing branded clothes. Good for you for hanging in there even though it’s hard

    Reply

  • $140 a day for childcare! That’s out of this world


    • It depends which state you live in and whether or not you qualify for a rebate.
      A lady in Qld on support Mother’s pension until she finds a job pays $21.00 per day. If she moves to SA it will cost her over $40.00 per day. She is planning to look for employment when her baby is a little bit older provided she can find an available spot in a Daycare Centre.

    Reply

  • I’m pretty sure my parents were short for money when we were kids, there’s seven of us. But I never noticed as a kid! Family was so wonderful to be with and that was better than always having money for lots of stuff.

    Reply

  • If only more people were like you and didn’t give up when times are tough.

    Reply

  • It sounds like you have a wonderful family and wouldn’t swap it for the world.

    Reply

Post a comment
Like Facebook page

LIKE MoM on Facebook

Please enter your comment below
Would you like to include a photo?
No picture uploaded yet.
Please wait to see your image preview here before hitting the submit button.
Your MoM account


Lost your password?

Enter your email and a password below to post your comment and join MoM:

↥ Back to top

Thanks For Your Star Rating!

Would you like to add a written rating or just a star rating?

Write A Rating Just A Star Rating
Join